How to Recover Files from Reset Computers
Windows resetting option allows you to restore your PC to factory default configuration. It is very useful when your PC or laptop becomes less responsive after a long time accumulation of files, caches, or malware. Resetting prepares your PC or laptop to start anew rather conveniently and quickly.
Windows offers different options when we reset it to factory settings. It is best that we know how each of them works and how they differ from each other, in order to choose the best option that suits our need. There are basically two options when it comes to resetting Windows.
You can choose to keep your files and personalized settings but resets PC settings to default. Applications not from Windows Store will be uninstalled and removed. When you choose to keep your files, the PC will scan your drives and put aside your personal data before the formatting. After a new copy of Windows is installed successfully, the files will be moved back to their original place.
You can also choose to perform a complete Windows reinstall from scratch and remove everything that doesn’t come with this PC. When you reset your PC and choose to remove everything, the PC boots into Windows RE (Windows Recovery Environment) and format the Windows partitions before it installs a new copy of Windows.
If your PC came with pre-installed Windows, there will be a third option – Restore Factory Settings. This option restores your computer to the factory default state, which means if your Windows 10 was upgraded from Windows 8, it will be reverted to Windows 8. What’s more, the bundled bloatware installed by manufacturers will find their way back to you.
Will Removed Data be Recoverable?
Restoring PCs to factory default can help us solve some problems, but it can lead to potential data loss if anything goes wrong. What should we do if files are removed without backups after factory reset? Is it possible to recover personal files after the factory reset has removed everything? Whether or not you can recover data from factory reset depends on the previous options you made. There are two ways to handle the removal of data.
When you decide to remove everything, Windows will give you the options of “thorough” removal (Remove files and clean the drive) and “quick” removal (Just remove my files).
The quick removal is quick but less secure if you plan to donate or recycle your computer. This option is similar to quick format. It just resets the filesystem and cleared the table address. Although inaccessible, the raw data are still there and can be recovered by using professional data recovery tools such as H Data Recovery Software.
The thorough removal, on the other hand, writes random numbers to every sector of the drive, overwriting any existing data visible to the operating system. This process will provide enough security for typical scenarios but as a result consumes hours to complete. This is the option for you if you are disposing of highly confidential business and government data.
Basically, resetting PC will completely remove all programs, applications, games, documents, pictures, music or movies from the device. But unless you specifically order to clean the drive, these lost data can be recovered with the help of H Data Recovery Software, which can help you handle data loss situations like lost partitions, accidental deletions, emptied recycle bin and more.
How to Use H Data Recovery Software?
Step 1. Install and Launch H Data Recovery Software and select “Formatted Hard Drive Accidentally”.
Step 2. Select the partition where you want to recover files from. Click Next to start the scan process. It only takes few seconds!
Step 3. When scanning is done, you will be able to see all the files that can be recovered. Check the files you wish to recover and click next to start the recovering process.
Considering the fact that a computer reset will remove every file on all partitions, the Universal Recovery module is also suited for the job. Universal Recovery will deep scan all drives and partitions to the fullest extent, and try to locate every previously removed file.